Lets Talk
(281) 201-1038


Understanding Different Levels of Alzheimer's

Understanding Alzheimer's and its Various Stages

Alzheimer's is a fairly known disease, but most of us know very little about it. The disease can take effect years before showing any significant symptoms. It causes little changes to the brain that eventually lead to forgetfulness and general deterioration of brain cells. Lack of knowledge about the disease can affect the way you take care of your loved one diagnosed with Alzheimer's. It's important to know the stages of the disease, so that you can take the necessary steps to arrange for Alzheimer's care, Richmond TX provides for those living with the disease.

Stage: 1 - Normal Outward Behavior

At this stage, the disease can only be picked up through a PET scan. The more visible signs of Alzheimer's are clearly noticeable during later stages.

Stage: 2 - Very Mild Changes

The symptoms in this stage are similar to those one experiences as a result of old age. As a result, they will be difficult to spot, even by a doctor. Some of the symptoms include slight forgetfulness and misplacing things.

Stage: 3 - Mild Decline

Alzheimer's indicators are more visible now. These include signs like:

  • Repeating questions
  • Trouble remembering names of new people
  • Forgetting new information
  • Can't make plans or stay organized

Stage: 4 - Moderate Decline

In this stage, the previous signs are more pronounced and obvious with the addition of new issues related to thinking and reasoning.

Stage: 5 - Moderately Severe Decline

At this point, the above symptoms will amplify. Your loved one will have problems recalling things like phone numbers, his address, what to wear for the season and his school days.

Stage: 6 - Severe Decline

This is where the disease gets worse and your loved one starts displaying the following signs:

  • Getting delusional
  • Mistaking one person for someone else
  • Using the bathroom may also become difficult

Arranging for a Richmond TX memory care facility would be advisable at this stage and beyond.

Stage: 7-Very Severe Decline

Basic activities, like walking, sitting and eating begin fading away, making the person completely dependent on round-the-clock care.

Clayton Oaks Living knows how difficult it can be on you and your family. That's why their Alzheimer's facility in Sugar Land provides your loved ones assisted living to make sure they receive the necessary care and attention they require when they unable to help themselves.

Posted by Clayton Oaks on 3/21/2015 5:44:11 PM
Clayton Oaks Senior Living Community
Request More
Clayton Oaks Assisted Living Our Story
Come see our senior living community
Clayton Oaks - Senior Living in Houston
We Look forward
to seeing you!
Clayton Oaks Living
21175 Southwest Freeway Richmond, TX 77469
Phone: 281.201.1038 Fax: 281.341.6205
Email: info@claytonoaksliving.com
Office Hours:Mon-Fri: 9:00am - 5:00pm
Sat: 10:00am - 5:00pmSun: 1:00pm - 4:00pm